Docket Page 1 of 369 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

## Okanagan Senate

# THE NINTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

# **THURSDAY, 17 MAY 2018**

3:30 PM | ASC 130

## 1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

### **Declaration of Vacancy:**

The Secretary has received a letter of resignation from Mr Calvin Jacob Cruz, student member of Senate.

### **Nominating Committee:**

In response to the call for nominations issued at the previous meeting, nominations have been received for Mr Yeuting Chen and Mr Jackson Traplin. As there are two candidates for two positions, they are acclaimed as elected to the Senate Nominating committee until 31 March 2019 and thereafter until replaced.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 26 April 2018– Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 4-15)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- **4.** Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Relation Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
  - a. General Remarks
  - b. Activities Report from 1 January to 30 April 2018 (information( docket pages 16-19)

## 6. Candidates for Degrees – Dr Santa Ono

The list as approved by the faculties is available for advance inspection at the Senate office, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective May 2018, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the dean of the relevant faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (approval) (2/3 majority required).

## 7. From the Council of Senates – Dr Ramon Lawrence

Annual Report of the Budget Committee (Academic Building and Resources Committee) (information) (docket pages 20-24)

# 8. Admissions & Awards Awards Committee – Dr Marianne Legault

- a. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 25-26)
- b. Revisions to Policy J-51 Admission Based on Interim Grades for Applicants following Canadian Extra-Provincial Criteria (approval) (docket pages 27-28, 29-41)
- c. Revisions to Policy J-52 Admission for Secondary School Applicants following the BC/Yukon Curriculum (approval)(docket pages 27-28, 42-56)
- d. Revisions Policy J-53Course-Specific Minima for Secondary School Applicants (approval) (docket pages 27-28, 57-76)
- e. Master of Management: Changes in Admission Requirements (approval) (docket pages 77, 79-80)
- f. Master of Social Work: Changes in Admission Requirements (approval) (docket pages 78, 81-82)
- g. Master of Science in Computer Science: Changes in Admission Requirements (approval) (docket pages 78, 83-84)

## 9. Appeals on Standing and Discipline Committee– Dr Robert Campbell

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 85-88)

#### 10. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Curriculum Proposals from the faculties of Arts & Sciences, Education, Creative & Critical Studies and Applied Science (approval) (docket pages 89-180)

# 11. Joint Report of the Admissions and Awards and Curriculum Committees – Dr Marianne Legault and Dr Peter Arthur

a. Okanagan Senate Policies O-127: Diploma Programs and O-128: Academic-Credit Certificate Programs (approval) (docket pages 181-197)

- b. Ph.D. in Kinesiology (approval)(docket pages 198, 199, 200-218)
- c. Revisions to the Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies Program (approval)(docket pages 198-199, 216-332)

## 12. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Jan Cioe

- a. Requirements to Receive a Degree or Diploma Calendar Update (approval) (docket pages 333-335)
- b. School of Social Work Academic and Program Regulations Update (approval) (docket pages 336-357)
- c. Course Withdrawal Dates (approval) (docket pages 358-364)

## 13. Learning & Research Committee – Dr Deborah Roberts

Candidates for Emeritus Status (approval) (docket pages 365-366)

## 14. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a. Vice-Chair of Senate (approval) (docket page 367)
- b. Appointments to Committees and the Council of Senates (approval) (docket pages 367-368)

### 15. Other Business

Motion from Senator Wylie (approval) (docket page 369)

Section 16 (b) Of the *Rules and Procedures of the Vancouver Senate* states that meetings will adjourn no later than 8:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca