Docket Page 1 of 107 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016-1874 East Mall Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE EIGHTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2014/2015 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, 22 APRIL 2015

3:30 PM | ASC 130

- 1. Senate Membership- Dr Kate Ross
 - a. Introduction of Student Representatives to Senate for 2015-2016 (information)(docket page 3)
 - b. Call for Nominations for two (2) Student Members to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee (information)
- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 25 March 2015 Prof. Arvind Gupta (approval) (docket pages 4-15)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Arvind Gupta
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Prof. Arvind Gupta
 - a. General Remarks (information)
 - b. Report on Activities from 25 January 2015 to 1 April 2015 (information (Docket pages 16-19)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
 - a. Budget Update (information)
 - b. General Remarks (information)
 - c. Report on Activities from 1 October 2014 to 30 March 2015 (information)(docket Pages 20-23)
- 6. Academic Policy Committee Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos

Status Report on the College of Graduate Studies (information) (docket pages 24-43)

- 7. Admissions & Awards and Curriculum Committees Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos and Dr Peter Arthur
 - a. Presentation on Vantage College Dr Joanne Fox (information) (docket pages 44-51)
 - b. Expansion of Vantage College to Bachelor of Applied Science (Vancouver/Okanagan) and Bachelor of Management (Okanagan) Programs (approval) (docket pages 52-92)

8. Admission & Awards Committee – Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos

- a. 'English Language Pathways' for Okanagan Academic Calendar (approval)(docket pages 93-106)
- b. New Award (approval) (docket page 107)

9. Other Business

10. IN CAMERA - Learning & Research Committee - Dr Peter Arthur

Honorary Degrees (approval) (to be circulated at meeting)

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca