Okanagan Seante

a place of mind



THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE FIRST REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2016/2017 ACADEMIC YEAR

THURSDAY, 29 SEPTEMBER 2016

3:30 PM | ASC 130

1. Senate Membership– Prof. Deborah Buszard and Dr Kate Ross (docket page 4)

a. New Members

- Dr Santa J Ono to replace Dr Martha C Piper, President & Vice-Chancellor
- Dr. Francisco Peña to replace Dr Jodey Castricano, Representative for the Faculty of Creative & Critical Studies (resigned)

b. Declaration of Vacancy

- Dr David Koslowsky, Representative of the Faculty of Management (eligibility)

c. Vice-Chair of Senate

Dr Cynthia Mathieson's term as Vice-Chair of Senate has expired. Pursuant to Rule 7 of the Senate, Dr Deborah Buszard is nominated as Vice-Chair; however, any other Senator has until 3 pm on 29 September 2016 to nominate him or herself for the positon by sending an email to that effect to christopher.eaton@ubc.ca. Should a second or further nominations be received, an election shall occur at 3:25 pm on 29 September 2016 at ASC 130 to determine the Vice-Chair of Senate until 19 May 2017.

d. Nominating Committee

Due to the resignation of Dr Castricano from Senate, a vacancy exists on the Senate Nominating Committee. Nominations may be made to <u>christopher.eaton@ubc.ca</u> by 13 October 2016. Pursuant to Rule 24 (e) of the Senate, if more than one person is nominated, an election shall occur at the next meeting of Senate.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 19 May 2016 Prof. Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 5-20)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Santa Ono
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Prof. Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
 - a. Activity Report for 1 May to 31 August 2016 (information) (docket pages 21-23)

- b. General Remarks (information)
- c. Consultation on Proposed Policy 131: Sexual Assault with Associate Vice-President Sara-Jane Finlay (information)

6. From the Board of Governors - Prof. Santa Ono

Confirmation that material from the following meetings as approved by Senate were subsequently approved by the Board of Governors as required under the *University Act* (information):

31 March 2016

Curriculum proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, and Education

New Programs; BSC Major in Data Science, BSc Honours in Data Science

New Awards

28 April 2016

Curriculum proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Arts & Sciences, Creative & Critical Studies, Health & Social Development and Management.

New Programs: Pre-Med Alternative Path, Minor in Computer Science, Co-operative Education programs for BFA and BHK.

New Award

19 May 2016

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Applied Science, Creative & Critical Studies, Health & Social Development, Arts & Sciences.

New Program: Bachelor of Media Studies.

New Awards

7. Candidates for Degrees – Prof. Santa Ono

The list as approved by the faculties and College of Graduate Studies is available for advance inspection at Enrolment Services, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the faculties and College be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective September 2016, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the relevant deans, and the Chair of the Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments. (approval)

(2/3 majority required).

8. Admission & Awards Committee – Dr Marianne Legault

- a. Change in General Undergraduate Admission Application Deadline (approval)(docket page 24, 26-27)
- b. Early Offers of Admission on Grade 11 Grades (information) (docket pages 24-49)

c. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 50-58)

9. Curriculum Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculty of Education (approval) (docket pages 59-66)

10. Learning & Research Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Enhanced Learning Record (discussion) (docket pages 67-78) – with Dr Kate Ross

11. Nominating Committee – Dr Daniel Keyes

- a. Adjustments to Committee Assignments (approval) (docket page 79)
- b. President's Advisory Committee for the Consideration of the Extension of the Appointment of the Vice-President Academic & Research (information) (docket page 79)
- c. Presidential Search Committee Principles for Future Searches (discussion) (docket pages 80-103)

12. Report from the Provost – Dr Cynthia Mathieson

Academic Initiatives for 2016-2017 (information)

13. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or email: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca