

# a place of mind THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

## Okanagan Senate

# THE NINTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2021/2022 ACADEMIC YEAR

# THURSDAY, 19 MAY 2022 3:30 PM | VIA ZOOM

- 1. Senate Membership- Dr Kate Ross
  - a. New Member (information)

Priscilla Uribe, Student for the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, until 31 March 2023 and thereafter until replaced.

b. Nominating Committee (information)

In response to the call for nominations issued at the previous meeting, Hisham Khan is acclaimed as elected to the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2023 and thereafter until replaced. One vacancy remains for a student member of Senate. Nominations are due 1 September 2023 to <a href="mailto:christopher.eaton@ubc.ca">christopher.eaton@ubc.ca</a>.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 28 April 2022 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 3-20)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Dr Lesley Cormack
- 6. Remarks from the Provost and Related Questions Dr Rehan Sadiq
- 7. Candidates for Degrees Dr Santa Ono

A list of graduands are available from the Secretary before the meeting.

The Chair calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the faculties and the College of Graduate Studies, be granted the degrees for which there were recommended, effective June 2022, and that a committee composed of the registrar, the appropriate Dean(s) or their appointed designates, and the Chair of the Okanagan Senate, be empowered to make any necessary adjustments. (2/3 majority required) (approval)

# 8. Academic Building & Resources Committee - Dr Peter Arthur

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 21-24)

### 9. Academic Policy Committee – W. Stephen McNeil

- a. Recognition of the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation for 2022 (approval) (docket pages 25-26
- b. New Policy: O-135: Academic Concession (approval) (docket pages 27-39)

#### 10. Admissions & Awards Committee – Ms Tamara Ebl

- a. New Award from the College of Graduate Studies (approval) (docket pages 40-41
- b. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 40, 42-43)

# 11. Appeals on Standing & Discipline Committee – Dr Robert Campbell

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 44-46)

#### 12. Curriculum Committee – Dr Yves Lucet

May Curriculum Report (approval) (docket pages 47-133)

### 13. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees – Ms Tamara Ebl and Dr Yves Lucet

- a. New Program: Doctor of Education (approval) (docket pages 134-267)
- b. Revised Program: Discontinuation of Program for the Bachelor of Management for those who Commenced in 2016/2017 and Earlier (approval) (docket pages 134-135, 268-287)

### 14. Learning & Research Committee – Dr Sally Stewart

Emeritus Appointments (approval) (docket pages 288-289)

## 15. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a. Committee Appointments (approval) (docket pages 290-291)
- b. Election of a Vice-Chair from 1 June 2022 to 31 August 2022 (approval) (docket page 291)

### 16. Other Business

# 17. IN CAMERA - Revocation of Degrees for Academic Misconduct (approval) (circulated under separate cover)

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca