Okanagan Senate

a place of mind



THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE NINTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2020/2021 ACADEMIC YEAR

THURSDAY, 20 MAY 2021

3:30 PM | VIA ZOOM

1. Senate Membership- Dr Kate Ross

New Member (information)

Raj Somal, Student Member, Faculty of Management, to fill a vacancy until 31 March 2022 and thereafter until replaced.

Nominating Committee (information)

In response to the call for nominations issued at the previous meeting, 2 members of Senate who are students have been nominated to serve on the Senate Nominating Committee until 31 March 2022 and thereafter until replaced. Therefore, Jia Fu Lee and Hisham Khan are acclaimed as elected.

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 29 April 2021 Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 4-23)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- 4. Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Related Questions Dr Lesley Cormack
- 6. Remarks from the Provost Dr Ananya Mukherjee-Reed
 - a. General Remarks
 - b. BC Ministry of Advanced Education COVID Back to Campus Primer (information) (docket pages 24-34)

7. Candidates for Degrees – Dr Santa Ono

A list of graduands are available from the Secretary before the meeting.

The Chair calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the faculties and the College of Graduate Studies, be granted the degrees for which there were recommended, effective June 2021, and that a committee composed of the registrar, the appropriate Dean(s) or their appointed designates, and the

Chair of the Okanagan Senate, be empowered to make any necessary adjustments. (2/3 majority required)

8. Academic Building & Resources Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 35-38)

9. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Jan Cioe

- a. College of Graduate Studies Minimum PhD Funding Policy (approval) (docket pages 39-41)
- b. Support for Okanagan Chapter of the Emeritus College (approval) (docket page 42-43)

10. Admissions & Awards Committee – Mx Rhys Herzberg

- a. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 44-47)
- b. UBC Beyond Tomorrow Scholars Program (approval) (docket pages 48-51)
- c. Revisions to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Scholarships (approval) (docket pages 52-54)
- d. Revisions to the Admission Requirements for the Doctor of Philosophy and Master of Arts in Psychology (approval) (docket pages 55-68)
- e. Exchange Agreement with the University of Warsaw (approval) (docket pages 69-71

11. Appeals on Standing & Discipline Committee – Dr Robert Campbell

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 72-74)

12. Curriculum Committee – Dr Yves Lucet

- a. May Curriculum Report (approval) (docket pages 75-114)
- b. Changes to Variable Credit Courses for Workday Student Implementation (approval) (docket pages 115-118)

13. Joint Report of the Admission & Awards and Curriculum Committees – Dr Yves Lucet

- a. New Program: Master of Design and Associated New Courses (approval) (docket pages 119-166)
- b. Revised Program: Bachelor of Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences and Freshwater Science Programs (approval) (docket pages 167-185)

14. Learning & Research Committee – Dr Karen Ragoonaden

- a. Revisions to Policy O-250: Emeritus Status (approval) (docket pages 186-190)
- b. Report on Student Experience of Instruction (information) (docket pages 191-214)

15. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a. Adjustments to Committee and Council Assignments (approval) (docket pages 215-216)
- b. Election of a Vice-Chair from 1 June 2021 to 31 August 2021 (approval) (docket page 217)
- c. Discussion on Proposed Amendments to Policy AP5: Deans Appointments Policy (information) (docket pages 218-229)

16. Report from the Provost – Dr Ananya Mukherjee-Reed

Update on Ministry of Advanced Education Quality Assurance Process Audit (QAPA) (information) (docket pages 230-260)

17. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m. Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or email: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca

Convocation

THE ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTH SPRING MEETING OF THE CONVOCATION

THURSDAY, 20 MAY 2021

Directly following the adjournment of the Senate

Via Remote Attendance

- 1. Call to Order The Vice-Chancellor
- 2. Conferral of Degrees and Awarding of Diplomas and Certificates in Absentia The Chancellor
- 3. Adjournment The Vice-Chancellor