Docket Page 1 of 299 Office of the Senate Brock Hall | 2016 - 1874 East Mall

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Phone 604 822 5239 Fax 604 822 5945 www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE NINTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

THURSDAY, 16 MAY 2019

3:30 PM | ASC 130

1. Senate Membership – Dr Kate Ross

Nominating Committee

In response to the call for nominations issued at the previous meeting, two nominations have been received for the Senate Nominating Committee for two (2) student members of Senate. Ms Kelsey DesRoches and Mr Jassim Naqvi is acclaimed as elected until 31 March 2020 and thereafter until replaced.

Declarations of Vacancies

Dr James Johnson, Representative of the Joint Faculties (Rule 12: Absent without leave for three consecutive regular meetings of Senate)

Dr Jason Loeppky, Representative of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (Resigned)

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 25 April 2019– Dr Santa Ono (approval) (docket pages 4-16)
 - a. Amendment from the Agenda Committee to strike the Declaration of Vacancy for Dr Wylie from the Minutes (approval) Dr Peter Arthur
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr Santa Ono
- **4.** Remarks from the Chair and Related Questions Dr Santa Ono (information)
- 5. Remarks from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Relation Questions Prof. Deborah Buszard
- 6. Candidates for Degrees Dr Santa Ono

The list as approved by the faculties is available for advance inspection at the Senate office, and will also be available at the meeting.

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

That the candidates for degrees and diplomas, as recommended by the faculties, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective May 2019, and that a committee comprised of the Registrar, the dean of the relevant faculty, and the Chair of Senate be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (approval) (2/3 majority required).

7. From the Council of Senates – Dr Ramon Lawrence

Annual Report of the Budget Committee (Academic Building and Resources Committee) (information) (docket pages 17-21)

8. Academic Policy Committee – Dr Jan Cioe

Establishment of the Canadian Institute for Inclusion and Citizenship (approval) (docket pages 22-70)

9. Admissions & Awards Committee – Ms Tamara Ebl

- a. Suspension of Admissions to the Bachelor of Media Studies (approval) (docket pages 71, 74-76)
- b. Revisions to the English Language Admissions Standard (approval) (docket pages 72-73, 77-78)
- c. New and Revised Awards (approval) (docket pages 89-91)

10. Agenda Committee – Dr Peter Arthur

Draft Senate Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Rules (information)(docket pages 92-100)

11. Appeals on Standing and Discipline Committee– Dr Robert Campbell

Annual Report (information) (docket pages 101-104)

12. Curriculum Committees –Dr Peter Arthur

- a. Revisions to the Bachelor of Arts (approval) (docket pages 105-180)
- Curriculum Proposals from the Faculties of Arts & Sciences and Creative & Critical Studies (approval) (docket pages 181-294)

13. Learning & Research Committee – Dr Deborah Roberts

a. Candidates for Emeritus Status (approval) (docket pages 295-296)

b. Nomination of Candidates for Honorary Degrees (information)

14. Nominating Committee – Dr Jannik Eikenaar

- a. Senate Membership (approval) (docket page 297)
- b. Vice-Chair of Senate (approval) (docket page 297)
- c. President's Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Deputy Vice-Chancellor (approval) (docket page 298)
- d. President's Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Vice-President Human Resources (approval) (docket page 298)
- e. Appointments to Committees of Senates (approval) (docket pages 298-299)

15. Other Business

The Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate states that meetings will adjourn no later than 5:30 p.m.

Regrets: Telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: facsec@mail.ubc.ca

UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca