# THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA | OKANAGAN



#### OKANAGAN SENATE SECRETARIAT

Enrolment Services Senate and Curriculum Services 3333 University Way Kelowna, BC · V1V 1V7 Tel: (250) 807-9259 · Fax: (250) 807-8007 www.senate.ubc.ca

# **OKANAGAN SENATE**

## **AGENDA**

Wednesday 05 November 2008

3:30 P.M. - 5:30 P.M.

Room: LIB 317 | UBC OKANAGAN CAMPUS

1. Senate Membership – Associate Registrar Mr. Fred Vogt

Declarations of Vacancy under Section 12 of the Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate, and Section 36(6) of the University Act:

- Student Representative to Senate for the Faculty of Creative & Critical Studies (to replace Ms Christina Kuhn), to serve until 31 March 2009; and Student Representative At-large to Senate (to replace Mr Ben Steinberg), to serve until 31 March 2009.
- 2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting, 08 October 2008 Prof. Stephen J. Toope (approval) (circulated Item 2)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Prof. Stephen J. Toope
- 4. Chair's Remarks and Related Questions Prof. Stephen J. Toope
- 5. Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Remarks Dr. Doug Owram
- 6. From the Board of Governors Prof. Stephen J. Toope
  Confirmation that the following recommendations of the Okanagan Senate were approved as required under section 38 of the *University Act* (information)

#### 10 September 2008 Meeting of Senate

Curriculum proposal from the Faculty of Applied Science.

### 7. Agenda Committee - Mr. Robert Chavarie

a. Oral Status Report on Special Leave of Absence: referral from September 2008 meeting of Senate (information)

### 8. Academic Policy Committee – Dr. Jan Cioe

a. Interim Arrangement for Granting of Graduate Degrees (approval) (circulated – Item 8a)

### 9. Granting of Degrees – Prof. Stephen J. Toope

a. Candidates for Degrees: lists as submitted by the Faculties and the College are available for advance inspection at Enrolment Services, and will also be available at the meeting (approval)

The Chair of Senate calls for the following motion:

"That the candidates for degrees, as recommended by the Faculties and the College, be granted the degrees for which they were recommended, effective November 2008, and that a committee composed of the Registrar, the appropriate Dean, and the Chair of the Okanagan Senate, be empowered to make any necessary adjustments (2/3 majority required)."

### 10. Curriculum Committee – Mr. Christopher Eaton

Curriculum Proposals from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (approval) (circulated – Item 10)

#### 11. Learning and Research Committee – Mr. Peter Arthur

a. UBC Class Scheduling Principles (approval) (circulated – Item 11a)

#### 12. Admissions and Awards Committee – Dr. Sharon McCoubrey

a. Principles of Effective Undergraduate Admission to UBC (approval) (circulated – Item 12a)

#### 13. Other Business

Regrets: Kelly Ross telephone (250) 807-9259 or email <u>kelly.ross@ubc.ca</u>
UBC Senates: <u>www.senate.ubc.ca</u>