THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA | OKANAGAN



OKANAGAN SENATE SECRETARIAT

Enrolment Services Senate and Curriculum Services 3333 University Way Kelowna, BC · V1V 1V7 Tel: (250) 807-9259 · Fax: (250) 807-8007 www.senate.ubc.ca

OKANAGAN SENATE

AGENDA

Wednesday 10 December 2008

3:30 P.M. – 5:30 P.M.

Room: LIB 317 | UBC OKANAGAN CAMPUS

1. Senate Membership – Secretary of Senate Mr. Brian Silzer

a) New Member -- Ms. Sunita Syal, Representative of the Students At-large (approval)

That Ms. Syal be appointed as the Representative of the Students Atlarge (to replace Mr. Ben Steinberg) until March 31, 2009 and thereafter until a successor is elected.

b) New Member -- Ms. Christina Kuhn, Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies (approval)

That Ms. Kuhn be appointed as the Representative of the Students of the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies until March 31, 2009 and thereafter until a successor is elected.

- c) Declaration of Vacancy under Section 12 of the *Rules and Procedures of the Okanagan Senate*, and Section 36(6) of the *University Act* (information)
 - Student Representative to Senate for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (to replace Ms Vanna Lymberopoulos), until March 31, 2009 and thereafter until a successor is elected.
- 2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting, 05 November 2008 Dr. Doug Owram (approval) (circulated Item 2)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes Dr. Doug Owram
 - a. Verbal Update on UBC Student Mobility Dr. Alaa Abd-El-Aziz (information)

- b. Verbal Update on the Graduate Studies Review Dr. Jan Cioe (information)
- 4. President's Remarks and Related Questions Prof. Stephen J. Toope (via videoconference)
- 5. Vice-Chair's Remarks and Related Questions Dr. Doug Owram

6. Nominating Committee – Dr. Jan Cioe

- a. Student Senator Committee Assignments (approval) (circulated Item 6a)
- b. Council of Senates Membership (approval) (circulated Item 6b)

7. Agenda Committee – Ms. Rachael L'Orsa

a. Participation via Videoconference at Okanagan Senate (approval) (circulated – Item 7a)

Curriculum Committee – Mr. Christopher Eaton Curriculum Proposals from the Faculty of Applied Science (approval) (circulated – Item 8)

9. Learning and Research Committee – Dr. Jodey Castricano

- a. Academic Regalia for the Bachelor of Management (approval) (circulated Item 9a)
- b. Emeritus/ Emerita Status Report (approval) (circulated Item 9b)

10. Admissions and Awards Committee – Dr. Sharon McCoubrey a. New Awards (approval) (circulated – Item 10a)

- 11. Report from the Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services & Registrar Mr. Brian Silzer
 - a. Report on Enrolment 2008/2009 (information) (circulated as a separate zip file package Item 11a)

12. Other Business

 In Camera: Honorary Degrees 2009 – Dr. Jodey Castricano (approval) (Information about candidate is available for review at the Okanagan Senate Secretariat and will also be circulated at the meeting)

Regrets: Kelly Ross telephone (250) 807-9259 or email <u>kelly.ross@ubc.ca</u> UBC Senates: <u>www.senate.ubc.ca</u>