

www.senate.ubc.ca

Okanagan Senate

THE FOURTH REGULAR MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN SENATE FOR THE 2012/2013 ACADEMIC YEAR

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2012

3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M.

ASC 130| OKANAGAN CAMPUS

1. Senate Membership – Mr Christopher Eaton (information)

New Senator

Dr Barbara Marcolin, Assistant Professor of Management, Faculty Representative for the Faculty of Management (replacing Dr Gurupdesh Pandher)

- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of 20 November 2012 Prof. Deborah Buszard (approval) (Master Pages 3-13)
- 3. Business Arising from the Minutes
- 4. President's Remarks Prof. Stephen J. Toope (information) (master pages 14-26) Record of President's Activities for 27 August 2012 to 9 November 2012
- 5. Deputy Vice-Chancellor's Remarks Prof. Deborah Buszard (information)
- 6. Admission & Awards Committee Dr Spiro Yannacopoulos (approval)
 - a. Changes to Admission for Canadian Aboriginal Students (master pages 27-31)
 - b. New Policy O-52: Admission for Secondary School Applications following the BC / Yukon Curriculum and Discontinuation of Policy J-52 (master pages 32-45)
 - c. New and Revised Awards (master pages 45-46)
 - d. Major Entrance Scholarships (master pages 47-49)
- 7. Curriculum Committee Dr Dwayne Tannant (approval) (master pages 50-70) December Curriculum Report
- Learning & Research Committee Dr Peter Arthur (approval) (master pages 71-72) Candidates for Emeritus Status
- 9. Nominating Committee Mr Curtis Tse (approval) (master page 73)

Appointment to Senate Curriculum Committee

10. Report from the Provost – Dr W. Wesley Pue (information) (master pages 74-100) Centre for Heart, Lung, and Vascular Health

11. Other Business

Regrets: Kristen Elder, telephone 604.822.5239 or e-mail: kristen.elder@ubc.ca UBC Senates and Council of Senate website: http://www.senate.ubc.ca