UBC Senate homepage » Senate Membership 2020-2023

Senate Membership 2020-2023

Ex officio

  • Chancellor (The Hon. Steven L. Point)
  • President, Chair (Prof. Santa J. Ono)
  • Vice-President, Academic (Dr. Andrew Szeri)


  • Dr. James Olson, Applied Science
  • Dr. Gage Averill, Arts
  • Dr. Robert Helsley, Commerce and Business Administration
  • Dr. Mary MacDougall, Dentistry
  • Dr. Jan Hare, Education, Pro Tem.
  • Dr. Robert Kozak, Forestry
  • Dr. Susan Porter, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Dr. Rickey Yada, Land and Food Systems
  • Prof. Ngai Pindell, Peter A. Allard School of Law
  • Dr. Dermot Kelleher, Medicine
  • Dr. Michael Coughtrie, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dr. Meigan Aronson, Science

Chief Librarian

  • Dr. Susan Parker

Director of Continuing Education

  • Dr. Simon Bates

Elected by the Faculties

Applied Science

  • Dr. Maura MacPhee, Professor​
  • ​Dr. Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Associate Professor 


  • Dr. C.W. Marshall, Professor
  • Dr. Merje Kuus, Professor

Commerce and Business Administration

  • Dr. Adlai Fisher, Professor
  • Dr. Kin Lo, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Nancy Ford, Associate Professor
  • ​Dr. TsingChi von Bergmann, Professor


  • Dr. Guy Faulkner, Professor
  • Dr. Robert Boushel, Professor


  • ​Dr. Janette Bulkan, Associate Professor 
  • Dr. Hisham Zerriffi, Associate Professor 

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

  • ​Dr. Julian Dierkes, Professor
  • Dr. Steven Pelech, Professor 

Land and Food Systems

  • Dr. Sue Grayston, Professor
  • Dr. Anubhav Singh

Allard School of Law

  • Dr. Shigenori Matsui, Professor
  • Dr. James Stewart, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Alex Scott, Associate Professor
  • ​Dr. Claudia Krebs, Professor of Teaching 

Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Dr. Abby Collier, Associate Professor 
  • Dr. Ingrid Price, Associate Professor of Teaching


  • Ms. Karen Smith, Lecturer 
  • Dr. Jaclyn Stewart, Associate Professor of Teaching 

Elected by the Joint Faculties

  • Dr. Veta Chitnev, Lecturer, Faculty of Arts
  • Dr. Peter Englezos, Professor, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Dr. Susan Forwell, Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. Joanne Fox, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Science
  • Dr. Alison Greig, Associate Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. André Ivanov, Professor, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Prof. Carol Jaeger, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Dr. Charles Menzies, Professor, Faculty of Arts
  • Dr. Savvas Nicolaou, Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. Santokh Singh, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Science
  • Dr. Lynn Stothers, Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. Sally Thorne, Professor, School of Nursing 

Convocation members of Senate

  • Dr. Francis Andrew
  • Dr. Lawrence  Burr
  • Dr. Andrea Dulay
  • Mr. Benjamin Fischer
  • Dr. John Gilbert
  • Dr. Paul Harrison
  • Mr. Haymen Leong
  • Dr. Richard Spencer
  • Mr. Mike Stewart
  • Mr. Matthew Tan
  • Dr. Austin Uzama
  • Ms. Angela Zhao

Elected representative of the Professional Librarians

  • Mr. George Tsiakos

Representatives of Affiliated Colleges

  • Dr. Michael Higgins, St. Mark's College
  • Rev. Dr. Richard Topping, Principal, Vancouver School of Theology
  • Rev. Dr. Colin Godwin, Carey Theological College
  • Dr. Jeffrey Greenman, President, Regent College

Student representatives

(Term from April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021 except for Education which is from October 1 to September 30 of each year. One representative elected from each faculty, two from the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, and five members at-large.)

Applied Science

  • Laia Shpeller


  • Emmanuel Cantiller

Commerce and Business Administration

  • Leonard Wang


  • Dee Goyal


  • Shaktiraj Kandola


  • Xiutong Tony Jiang

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

  • Jackson Schumacher
  • Lisa W. White

Land and Food Systems

  • Anisha Sandhu

Allard School of Law

  • Sebastian Cooper


  • Dawson Born

Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Kanika Khosla 


  • Keanna Yu

Members at-large

  • Dante Agosti-Moro - Faculty of Commerce & Business Administration
  • Eshana Bhangu - Faculty of Arts (Continuing)
  • Julia Burnham - Faculty of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies (Continuing)
  • Shivani Mehta - Faculty of Science
  • Georgia Yee - Faculty of Science

Secretary (Non-Member)

  • Dr. Kate Ross, Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services and Registrar

Clerk (Non-Member)

  • Mr. Christopher Eaton, Associate Registrar & Director, Senate Office

A place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Vancouver Senate
2016-1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.827.4143
Okanagan Senate Secretariat
UNC 322, 3333 University Way
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Tel: 250.807.9619

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia