Senate Membership 2020-2023

Ex officio

  • Chancellor (The Hon. Steven L. Point)
  • Acting President, Chair (Dr. Deborah Buszard)
  • Vice-President, Academic (Dr. Gage Averill)


  • Dr. Meigan Aronson, Science
  • Dr. Michael Coughtrie, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dr. Clare Crowston, Arts
  • Dr. Jan Hare, Education, Pro Tem.
  • Dr. Darren Dahl, Commerce and Business Administration
  • Dr. Dermot Kelleher, Medicine
  • Dr. Robert Kozak, Forestry
  • Dr. Mary MacDougall, Dentistry, Pro Tem. 
  • Dr. James Olson, Applied Science
  • Prof. Ngai Pindell, Peter A. Allard School of Law
  • Dr. Susan Porter, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Dr. Rickey Yada, Land and Food Systems

Chief Librarian

  • Dr. Susan Parker

Director of Continuing Education

  • Dr. Simon Bates

Elected by the Faculties

Applied Science

  • ​Dr. Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Maura MacPhee, Professor​


  • Dr. Merje Kuus, Professor
  • Dr. C.W. Marshall, Professor

Commerce and Business Administration

  • Dr. Adlai Fisher, Professor
  • Dr. Kin Lo, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Nancy Ford, Associate Professor
  • ​Dr. HsingChi von Bergmann, Professor


  • Dr. Robert Boushel, Professor
  • Dr. Guy Faulkner, Professor


  • Dr. Janette Bulkan, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Hisham Zerriffi, Associate Professor

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

  • Dr. Julian Dierkes, Professor
  • Dr. Steven Pelech, Professor

Land and Food Systems

  • Dr. Sue Grayston, Professor
  • Dr. Anubhav Pratap-Singh, Assistant Professor

Allard School of Law

  • Dr. Shigenori Matsui, Professor
  • Dr. James Stewart, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Claudia Krebs, Professor of Teaching
  • Dr. Alex Scott, Associate Professor

Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Dr. Abby Collier, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Ingrid Price, Associate Professor of Teaching


  • Ms. Karen Smith, Lecturer
  • Dr. Jaclyn Stewart, Associate Professor of Teaching

Elected by the Joint Faculties

  • Dr. Veta Chitnev, Lecturer, Faculty of Arts
  • Dr. Peter Englezos, Professor, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Dr. Susan Forwell, Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. Joanne Fox, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Science
  • Dr. Alison Greig, Associate Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. André Ivanov, Professor, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Prof. Carol Jaeger, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Dr. Charles Menzies, Professor, Faculty of Arts
  • Dr. Savvas Nicolaou, Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr. Santokh Singh, Professor of Teaching, Faculty of Science
  • Dr. Sally Thorne, Professor, School of Nursing
  • Vacancy

Convocation Members of Senate

  • Dr. Francis Andrew
  • Dr. Lawrence Burr
  • Dr. Andrea Dulay
  • Mr. Benjamin Fischer
  • Dr. John Gilbert
  • Dr. Paul Harrison
  • Mr. Haymen Leong
  • Dr. Richard Spencer
  • Mr. Mike Stewart
  • Mr. Matthew Tan
  • Dr. Austin Uzama
  • Ms. Angela Zhao

Elected Representative of the Professional Librarians

  • Mr. George Tsiakos

Representatives of Affiliated Colleges

  • Rev. Dr. Colin Godwin, Carey Theological College
  • Dr. Jeffrey Greenman, President, Regent College
  • Dr. Gerry Turcotte, St. Mark’s College
  • Rev. Dr. Richard Topping, Principal, Vancouver School of Theology

Student Representatives

(Term from April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2023 except for Education which is from October 1 to September 30 of each year. One representative elected from each faculty, two from the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, and five members at-large.)

Applied Science

  • Laia Shpeller


  • Ian Caguiat

Commerce and Business Administration

  • Hubaib Amin


  • Alex Mitchell


  • Holly Patraschuk


  • Xiutong Tony Jiang

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

  • Siddarth Rout
  • Vacancy

Land and Food Systems

  • Joseph Al Rahmani

Allard School of Law

  • Kai Rogers


  • Amy Wang

Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Kanika Khosla


  • Katherine Feng

Members at-large

  • Kareem Hassib
  • Mathew Ho
  • Kamil Kanji
  • Davey Li
  • Sultana Razia

Secretary (Non-Member)

  • Ms. Rella Ng, Associate Vice-President, Enrolment Services and Registrar

Clerk (Non-Member)

  • Mr. Christopher Eaton, Associate Registrar & Director, Senate Office