Elected from Senate
Faculty Members or Deans (5)
Students (2)

Ex Officio
President, or in their absence, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Provost, or in their absence, the Associate Provost
Faculty Curriculum Chairs (1 per Faculty)
Graduate Studies Representative (faculty member)
Registrar or designate (non-voting)

Co-opted (as approved by Senate)
One graduate student

Quorum: 7 voting members

Terms of Reference
  • Responsible for recommending the following to Senate:
    • Creation of new or changes to degrees, programs, courses, faculty requirements, and any associated policies;
    • Discontinuation of degrees, diplomas, certificates, and programs; and
    • Materials presented on credentials (including degree, diploma, and certificate parchments, and students’ transcripts of academic record).
  • Delegated authority over the following by Senate:
    • Approval of minor changes to existing degree, diploma, certificate, program, faculty, and course requirements;
    • Approval of minor changes to existing credentials;
    • Additions and deletions of, and changes to, transcript notations; and discontinuation of courses.
Committee Summary

The Senate Curriculum Committee is roughly responsible for any change to the curriculum portion of the calendar. Any curriculum proposal is assessed as a Category 1 (Cat 1; major change), or Category 2 (Cat 2; minor change). The Cat 2 changes include changing pre-requisites, updating a course description, and similar changes while the Cat 1 changes include new courses, new programs, or any significant change. The committee adopted a hybrid process; Cat 2 changes are reviewed electronically, and approved in a single motion during the next SCC meeting. (If anyone has any objection on a specific proposal, it is handled separately during the meeting.) That allows the Committee to focus on Cat 1 changes during meetings.

Over the past Triennium, the Committee processed curriculum proposals including several new programs. It provided guidance on curriculum-related questions related to the transition to Workday student, and in that context had joint meetings with UBC Vancouver Curriculum Committee.

For the upcoming Triennium, the Committee will deal with ongoing curriculum proposals, and will keep advising the Workday implementation on curriculum matters on an as-needed basis.

Senator wishing to join the SCC Committee typically are interested in curriculum matters and may have submitted curriculum proposals at the department or faculty level. The committee is a cornerstone of the bicameral governance model by supporting Senate on the most visible side of its academic mission.


Elected from Senate (8)
Dr. Tanya Forneris (Vice-Chair)
Muskan Garg (Student)
Dr. Greg Garrard
Dr. Shirley Hutchinson
Dr. Yves Lucet (Chair)
Joshua Milliken (Student)
Vacancy (1)

Ex Officio
President, or in absence, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Provost, Okanagan, or in absence, Associate Provost

Mr. Ramine Adl, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Creative and Critical Studies
Dr. Scott Douglas, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Education
Dr. Sandy Hilton, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Management
Dr. Trudy Kavanagh, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Science
Mr. Bernard Momer, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Arts and Social Sciences
Dr. Edward Taylor, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Health and Social Development
Dr. Paul Shipley, Graduate Studies Representative
Dr. Sabine Weyand, Faculty Curriculum Chair: Applied Science

Registrar (non-voting)

Meeting Schedule
Date Time Location
Tuesday, 4 October 2022 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 1 November 2022 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 29 November 2022 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 10 January 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 7 February 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 7 March 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 4 April 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 18 April 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom
Tuesday, 6 June 2023 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm Zoom