Vancouver Budget Sub-committee


Dr. Peter Englezos
Dr. Adlai Fisher
Dr. Susan Forwell
Dr. Andre Ivanov
Dr. Kin Lo
Dr. James Stewart
Eshana Bhangu (student)(Chair)
Romina Hajizedeh (student)(Vice-Chair)



The Vancouver Budget Sub-committee has an annual schedule of standing agenda items to be considered each month.

Council of Senates Budget Committee Vancouver Sub-Committee Meetings

Date Time* Location
Wednesday 21 September 2022 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 19 October 2022 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 16 November 2022 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 14 December 2022 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 18 January 2023 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 15 February 2023 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 15 March 2023 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 19 April 2023 4:00-5:15pm
Wednesday 17 May 2023 4:00-5:15pm

* Presenters and Guests join the Committee members at 4:30pm.

The Vancouver Budget Sub-committee generally reviews matters related primarily to the Vancouver campus. In the Okanagan, the membership of the Okanagan Council of Senates Budget Sub-committee coincides with the membership of the Senate Academic Building and Resources Committee.The Budget Sub-committee welcomes questions or comments from the University community regarding upcoming agenda items, or other matters related to its Terms of Reference (below). Please submit any comments or questions that you may have to

Note: Submissions will be treated as confidential and screened for relevance to the Committee’s Terms of Reference. The Sub-committee Chair will have discretion as to whether to present the matter for the consideration of the Sub-committee, and to determine if a direct response to the submitter is appropriate.


The Council of Senates Budget Committee shall be composed of:

  1. Three (3) Councillors, elected by and from the Council of Senates;
  2. Nine (9) members of the Okanagan Senate appointed by and from the Okanagan Senate, who must include at least six (6) faculty members and two (2) students; and
  3. Nine (9) members of the Vancouver Senate appointed by and from the Vancouver Senate, who must include at least six (6) faculty members and two (2) students.

The Budget Committee shall elect:

  1. A chair, from those members of the Committee who are Councillors; and
  2. Two (2) vice-chairs – one from those members specified in Section 45 (b) and one from those members specified in Section 45 (c) – who shall be responsible for representing the Budget Committee to their respective Senates.

No member of the Budget Committee shall hold an administrative appointment as a Dean, Principal, Associate Vice-President or Vice-President.

Terms of reference

The Budget Committee shall:

  1. meet with the President and assist in the preparation of the University budget; and
  2. make recommendations to the President and to report to the Okanagan and Vancouver Senates at least annually concerning academic planning and priorities as they relate to the preparation of the University budget.

In advising the President on the University budget, the Budget Committee may request information on any of the University’s fund accounts.