14 Senators (including 4 student members and 2 convocation members)

Quorum: 5 voting members (Senate minutes January 21, 2004)

Terms of reference
  1. To advise and assist the Librarian in developing a general program of library services for all the interests of the University; and, more specifically, in:
    1. keeping informed about the library needs of students, instructional and research staffs, and the public, and in keeping the academic and wider community informed about the Library;
    2. responding to the opportunities and challenges presented to the Library by changes in its institutional, technological, and commercial environments;
    3. defining the functions of the Library and of library services within the University and wider community, and promoting a clear vision of the Library's role;
    4. ensuring that the Library maintains its capacity to preserve, manage, and develop its collections;
    5. securing budgets in support of those goals; and
    6. determining the optimal use of Library space and facilities.
  2. To report to Senate on matters of policy and practice under discussion by the Committee.
  3. To make recommendations to the Senate with respect to rules for the management and conduct of the Library (in accordance with the terms of the University Act).

Dr. Francis Andrew
Dr. Gage Averill
Dr. Janette Bulkan​
Dr. Lawrence Burr
Rev. Dr. Colin Godwin
Dr. Maura MacPhee​
Dr. Shigenori Matsui
Dr. Alex Scott​
Rev. Dr. Richard Topping​
Mr. George Tsiakos

Eshana Bhangu ​(student)
Julia Burnham (student)
Alex Gonzalez (student)
Nick Pang (student)

Ex Officio

Registrar (non-voting)
University Librarian
An associate vice-president academic, as designated by the Academic Vice-President
Director, School of Library, Archival & Information Studies

Meeting Schedule
Date Time Location
Thursday, September 12th, 2019 2:30-4:00pm BH 2001
Thursday, October 17th, 2019 2:30-4:00pm BH 2001
Thursday, November 21st, 2019 2:30-4:00pm IKBLC 256
Thursday, December 19th, 2019 Cancelled  
Thursday, January 16th, 2020 2:30-4:00pm IKBLC 240A
Thursday, February 20th, 2020 2:30-4:00pm IKBLC 240A
Thursday, March 19th, 2020  Cancelled  
Thursday, April 16th, 2020 2:30-4:00pm IKBLC 240A

Minutes from previous meetings

Sept 20, 2018

Nov 22, 2018

Jan 17, 2019

A place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Vancouver Senate
2016-1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.827.4143
Okanagan Senate Secretariat
UNC 322, 3333 University Way
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Tel: 250.807.9619

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia