Research and Scholarship Committee


11 Senators, including 2 students (at least one of whom is preferably a graduate student) and 1
convocation member.

Quorum: 5 voting members

Terms of reference
  • To consider, and to provide advice and recommendations to the Senate, on key academic
    matters related to research at the University, including but not limited to:
    • Institutional policies and procedures related to research;
    • Centres, institutes and other academic or administrative units with researchfocused
      mandates; and
    • Research aspects of university-level strategic planning
    • The research environment, infrastructure, funding and other issues which, in the
      opinion of the Committee, have an impact on research at the University.
    • To consider an annual report on research at the University from the Vice-President
      Research and Innovation prior to its presentation to Senate.
    • To meet or consult with other Senate committees as required on matters of mutual



Dr Victoria Bungay
Dr Guy Faulkner
Dean John Innes
Dr Paul Keown
Dr Merje Kuus
Dr Philip Loewen
Dr Theresa Rogers
Dr Mark Thachuk
Dr John Shepherd

Ms Alexa Tanner
Ms Vivian Tsang

Ex Officio

President (voting)
Registrar (non-voting)
Vice-President Research & Innovation or an Associate Vice-President Research as designated
by the Vice-President (voting)

A place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Vancouver Senate
2016-1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel: 604.827.4143
Okanagan Senate Secretariat
UNC 322, 3333 University Way
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Tel: 250.807.9619

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia